• His Majesty’s People’s project envisions a Post Graduate Residency program in Medical Sciences in Bhutan.


  • WHO fielded Consultants carry out feasibility study on establishment of Medical College.
  • Prime Ministers of India and Bhutan formally agree to establish Medical College with financial and technical support from GOI.


  • Bhutan Institute of Medical Sciences (BIMS) Project Office established.


  • Prime Minister of India and Bhutan lay the Foundation Stone for BIMS.


  • University of Medical Sciences Act of Bhutan 2012 passed by the Parliament of Bhutan and granted Royal Assent.
  • Cabinet approval for establishment of University of Medical Sciences of Bhutan Interim President appointed.
  • First Governing Council session convened.


  • University of Medical Sciences of Bhutan office established.
  • Registrar, Director and other staff of the University recruited and appointed.
  • Royal Institute of Health Sciences and National Institute of Traditional Medicine handed over from Royal University of Bhutan to the new Medical University.


  • Postgraduate Medical Education Centre established.
  • Reldri Academy of Health Sciences affiliated.
  • Launching of Post Graduate Residency program in 5 disciplines.


  • His Majesty grants assent to name the University as Khesar Gyalpo University of Medical Sciences of Bhutan.
  • Her Majesty The Gyaltsuen formally launched the Khesar Gyalpo University.
  • First International Conference on Medical and Health Science held.
  • Bhutan Health Journal launched.
  • Formally launched as Faculty of Postgraduate by the Health Minister, Lyonpo Tandin Wangchuk.
  • Introduced MD in Medicine.


  • Democratically elected Dean (Dr. Tashi Tenzin, MD) and Dy.Dean – Academic and Student Affairs (Dr. Karma Tenzin, MD).
  • Faculty received the Faculty flag from His Excellency, the Health Minister, Lyonpo Tandin Wangchuk. 


  • Introduced MD in Orthopedic Surgery and General Practice.


  • The first batch of Specialists graduated (8).
  • Release of the new and revised curriculum by His Excellency, Lyonpo Tandin Wangchuk, the then Health Minister.
  • Introduction of MD in Emergency Medicine and Psychiatry.
  • Selection of Dean (Prof. Dr. Tashi Tenzin, MD).
  • Appointment of Dy.  Dean – Student Affairs (Dr. Kuenzang Chhezom, MD).
  • Selection of Dy. Dean –  Academic Affairs (Dr. Karma Tenzin, MD).


  • Introduction of MD in Otorhinolaryngology (ENT).


  • Memorandum of understanding signed between University and the Institute of Medicine (IOM), Tribhuvan University, Maharajgunj Medical Campus, Kathmandu, Nepal.


  • First ever accreditation of the Faculty and secured “Grade B” which is categorized as “Good.”
  • Revision of internship guidelines towards development of competencybased internship program.
  • Revision of PG Thesis Guideline.


  • Selection of new Dean (Dr. Guru Prasad Dhakal, MD).
  • Introduction of MD in Dermatology.